Russian National Day

- Jun 12, 2018-


Every year on June 12 is Russia's National Day, also known as Russia Day, Independence Day.

On  June 12, 1990, the Supreme Soviet of the Russian Federation passed and  issued a declaration of sovereignty, announcing Russia’s independence  from the Soviet Union. On June 12, 1991, Yeltsin became the first democratically elected president of Russia. At the end of the same year, the Soviet Union disintegrated and Russia used a new name: the Russian Federation. In 2002, the new "Labor Law" of Russia entered into force, and it became an official holiday and public holiday on June 12.

Every  year on National Day, the President of Russia will award medals to  prominent figures in various fields in the Kremlin, and will hold a  festival concert in Red Square in the evening. The federal government usually does not hold official celebrations on National Day. Local governments and some private institutions will hold different forms of celebrations.

Russia spans eleven time zones, and the Far East region is the first to celebrate the festival. On National Day, the Kamchatka Peninsula usually holds a patriotic bicycle race. Vladivostok,  a city of mountains and sea, uses its own geographical advantages to  host festivals and competitive sailing festivities.

In the capital Moscow, celebrations are held in major parks and plazas. Wearing  a national costume, a Russian girl dances happily with the accordion,  eliciting songs, inviting visitors to join the ranks of singing and  dancing; juggling, circus, street dancing, and drumming always attract  the attention of the children; patriotic chorus and open-air concerts  are the most popular among the middle and old aged people. Love.